Transitioning into Tech: Backstage to DevOps (Dev Retro 2022)

Transitioning into Tech: Backstage to DevOps (Dev Retro 2022)

hey bestie, it me! ✨

Hello everyone! Happy New Year 2023!

This DevRetro 2022 challenge came just in time as my bootcamp ended, and I reflected on my journey from a non-tech person to a tech enthusiast.

My name is Vivi, and I'm a mid-career changer. I worked in the performing arts scene as a freelancer for about a decade before I decided to switch lanes.

In Jan 2022, I decided to sign up for a Cloud Support & DevOps bootcamp by Generation Singapore. It was their last cohort, and I thought, "Why not - let's just go for it!"

The bootcamp started in March 2022. (I vlogged about it, too! See it in action here)

Nine months later, here I am.

my reflections

2022 has been crazy - the good kind of crazy - as I transitioned into the tech. There are more downs than ups, and I often ask myself, "Why did you do this to yourself?" But I believe anything worth it does not come easy.

The points that I'm sharing below are not anything new. I have seen them being shared on many social media platforms, but it hits differently when experiencing them yourself.

1. you won't know until you try it

Until I was accepted into the bootcamp programme, I was full of doubt about myself and my decision to leave my then industry.

You are insane. I told myself that repeatedly. What if it all goes wrong? What if you can't keep up with the load? You will never be able to survive in a desk-bound job after being in this field for so long.

But...what if it all goes well?

Eventually, I decided to cast away my fears of uncertainty because I didn't want to look back and regret that I didn't take that step. You will never know until you do it.

So, do it. Take that leap of faith.

I reckon that even if I "fail", I would have learned something from that and for me, that is still a win 🥂

2. pace yourself

I'm telling you, learning DevOps with zero IT knowledge is a hell of a ride.

The learning curve is steep, and you get overwhelmed all the time. I didn't know it was even possible until I joined the bootcamp.

People often say that the most challenging part is to start. Wrong. The hardest part is to stay motivated when you feel like giving up.

When I first started learning the theory behind DevOps and its tools, I thought I was stupid for not understanding many of them despite being explained a few times. I was frustrated with myself for learning too slowly, so I was constantly in front of my laptop. Studying the minute I woke up and continued studying until just before I went to sleep.

In my mind, I could not afford to rest for me to catch up. I strongly believe in this because of my position as a starter/entry-level person looking into getting hired by the time the bootcamp ends.

By December, I was mentally exhausted and physically strained. The last two weeks of December were me zoning out, not doing anything. I didn't want to do anything. I struggled to get information in my head, and whatever I studied did not register.

So my suggestion is: do not be like me, folks.

Everybody learns at a different pace. Remind yourself to take breaks and do your hobbies in between, and you will have the fuel to press on.

3. you learn the most by doing and failing

If anything, this point has got to be the highlight of this whole post.

Throughout the programme, I believed that the more I studied and acquired more theory knowledge, the better engineer I became. Because that is how things should be, right?

Looking back, I learned the most when I struggled to find an answer or a solution. There is just something about the hands-on experience that cannot be obtained by simply studying or watching tutorial videos. I hope to experience this again by doing the Cloud Resume Challenge.

Start a small project. Do it. Fail at it. Do it again. Do not stop until you get it right.

Do not fear failure because failing at something does not mean you are bad at it, it means that you're learning.

And that, my friends, is not something someone else can give you. You have to earn it yourself.

closing thoughts

It has been a ride, but it is only the beginning.

There is more to discover and learn. I love the fact that the possibilities with technology are endless. It is one of the reasons why I chose tech.

Do it if you're thinking of switching careers to the tech industry. Of course, it is easier said than done, but I highly recommend it if you have the resource.

I am looking forward to more exciting projects in 2023!

Thank you for reading, and have a great year ahead, everyone 🥂